Beginning on March 17, 2020, the Schengen Member States as well as the four Schengen Associated States (collectively the “Member States”) temporarily restricted all non-essential travel from third countries into the European Union.  These restrictions extended until July 1, 2020, when the EU Council recommended that Member States begin to permit entry from travelers residing in a designated list of third countries.  The United States was not included on this list of permitted countries as the country continues to report the highest number of new COVID-19 cases.

Continue reading on Mayer Brown’s Mobile Workforce blog.