The Japanese government announced that it is banning entry in principle of foreigners who have visited Kenya, Venezuela and 15 other countries for the past 14 days prior to arriving in Japan.  In addition, all Japanese citizens (and any foreigners excluded from the entry ban) who have visited any of the countries subject to the entry ban will be subject to PCR testing upon arrival and will be asked to self-isolate for 14 days.  The Japanese government also announced that the entry restrictions currently in place have been extended through at least the end of August and may be extended further.

146 countries globally are now subject to Japan’s entry restriction measures.  The full list of additional countries subject to the entry restrictions include Botswana, the Comoros, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Namibia, Nepal, Palestine, Paraguay, the Republic of the Congo, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan and Suriname.

Please refer to the following website (in English) for additional information.


If you wish to receive periodic updates on this or other topics related to the pandemic, you can be added to our COVID-19 “Special Interest” mailing list by subscribing here. For any other legal questions related to this pandemic, please contact the Firm’s COVID-19 Core Response Team at

The post Japan Entry Bans Now at 146 Countries with Addition of Kenya, Venezuela and Others appeared first on COVID-19 Response Blog.