The Japanese government announced that it is extending the entry restrictions into Japan, which we discussed in detail in our prior blog post , through the end of May. This extension applies to entry restrictions placed on all countries globally, including the entry ban on foreigners who have visited the United States, Canada, China or 70 other countries for the past 14 days prior to arriving in Japan. All permitted entrants (including Japanese citizens) will continue to be asked to self-isolate for 14 days and refrain from using any public transportation.

Effective April 29 at midnight Japan time, the Japanese government will ban entry into Japan of foreigners who have visited Russia, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Peru or 10 other countries for the past 14 days prior to arriving in Japan. The new entry ban is in addition to the existing entry bans on foreign visitors from 73 other countries, bringing the total to 87 countries globally. On April 24, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs had placed a Level 3 warning level on the 14 countries subject to the new entry ban, urging (but not forbidding) Japanese citizens not to travel to these countries.


If you wish to receive periodic updates on this or other topics related to the pandemic, you can be added to our COVID-19 “Special Interest” mailing list by subscribing here. For any other legal questions related to this pandemic, please contact the Firm’s COVID-19 Core Response Team at

The post Japan Extends Entry Restrictions Through the End of May, Announces Additional Entry Restrictions on 14 Countries appeared first on COVID-19 Response Blog.