Skip to main content

  • AddRemove
  • Build a Report 

International Arbitration in the Middle East

April 2011
Mayer Brown Article
Our Middle East team has updated its quick reference guide to key facts on international arbitration in the Arab countries of the Middle East, designed as a good place to start when considering arbitration issues - such as the seat of the arbitration and any protection afforded by bilateral investment treaties.


Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, UAE and Yemen.


  • New York Convention: Has a country acceded to the New York Convention? If so, on what basis and when?
  • ICSID Convention: Has a country acceded - and when?
  • Inter Arab conventions: Is a country signatory to any of the Arab conventions relevant to arbitration - the Riyadh and the GCC Conventions?
  • Local arbitration law: What is the arbitration law of each country? When was it enacted?
  • Local arbitral institutions: Does a country have a local arbitration institution?
  • Bilateral investment treaties: What bilateral investment treaties has each country entered into?
  • ICSID Cases: The number of pending and concluded cases.

If you would like a copy of the 2011 edition please contact:

Construction & Engineering Group (UK)


  • Wisam Sirhan
    T +44 20 3130 3028
  • Raid Abu-Manneh
    T +44 20 3130 3773

The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly.  Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently.  If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work.  For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.