Skip to main content


International Arbitration in the Middle East

December 2016
Mayer Brown Brochure

Welcome to this quick reference guide to key facts on international arbitration in the Arab countries of the Middle East. It is designed to provide a useful starting point when considering arbitration issues in the region, such as the seat of the arbitration and any protection afforded by bilateral investment treaties.


Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, UAE and Yemen.


  • New York Convention: Has a country acceded to the New York Convention? If so, on what basis and when?
  • ICSID Convention: Has a country acceded? If so when?
  • Inter Arab conventions: Is a country signatory to any of the Arab conventions relevant to arbitration - the Riyadh and the GCC Conventions?
  • Local arbitration law: What is the arbitration law of each country? When was it enacted?
  • Local arbitral institutions: Does a country have a local arbitration institution?
  • Bilateral investment treaties: Which bilateral investment treaties has each country entered into?
  • ICSID Cases: The number of pending and concluded cases.

To register for your free copy of Mayer Brown's Guide to International Arbitration in the Middle East please click here.

The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently. If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work. For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.