• AddRemove
  • Build a Report 
Past Event
19 February 2009

Topical Issues for Private Funds and Their Advisers

Topical Issues for Private Funds and Their Advisers

Thursday, February 19, 2009
8:00 am - 8:30 am PST
10:00 am - 10:30 am CST
11:00 am - 11:30 am EST
4:00 pm - 4:30 pm GMT

In the next teleconference call in our continuing series on the financial crisis, we will be addressing two issues of current interest to funds and their advisers:

  • On January 29, 2009, a bill was introduced in the US Senate, which, if it were to become law, would require certain private investment funds, including hedge funds, private equity funds, private real estate funds, securitization vehicles, and family offices, among others, with $50 million or more in assets or assets under management, to register with the SEC as investment companies. This would require these funds to make significant public disclosures and establish anti-money laundering programs.

  • TALF offers a range of opportunities for investors, each with its own set of issues and structuring considerations. As we wait for the final rules to be adopted we will consider some structural alternatives for leveraged TALF investments.

Please join us for a 30-minute teleconference as we discuss the impact of the Transparency Act, if it were to pass, and as we review the latest developments under TALF.

Mayer Brown's Global Financial Markets Initiative helps clients deal with the legal and business challenges resulting from the ongoing turbulence in worldwide financial markets. By mobilizing the firm's global resources from multiple practices and offices, the Initiative provides clients with knowledgeable and timely counsel on a broad spectrum of their legal needs.

Listen >>

The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly.  Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently.  If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work.  For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.