• AddRemove
  • Build a Report 
Past Event
25 September 2008

The Future of Anti-suit Injunctions: The West Tankers Case and its Implications in the EU and US

The Future of Anti-suit Injunctions: The West Tankers Case and its Implications in the EU and US

Thursday, September 25, 2008
10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. (CDT)
11:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (EDT)
4:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.(BST)
5:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. (CEST)

Please join Mayer Brown's International Arbitration practice in a teleconference that will address the background to and policy reasons behind the Advocate-General's recent opinion in the West Tankers case. The opinion, which continues the European Court of Justice's recent trend of restricting the use of common-law remedies in European Member State jurisdictions, indicates that the full Court is likely to hold that the remedy of an anti-suit injunction to restrain breach of an agreement to arbitrate will no longer be available within European Union Member States. More specifically, the teleconference will address:

  • Background facts to the West Tankers case
  • The Advocate-General's Opinion: suspicion of arbitral tribunals' ability to determine their own jurisdiction and restriction on the rights of English Courts
  • How this decision affects the supposed priority of the parties' agreement
  • What the decision means for London as an arbitral center and how significant is the decision likely to be in the future
  • The impact on parties affected by breach of an agreement to arbitrate
  • What parties can do to protect their position
  • US perspectives on the implications of the decision

Philippa Charles - London
Alex C. Lakatos - Washington, DC

Register > >

Dial-in Information
Please call one of the following telephone numbers for audio participation.

North America: +1 866 281 6628
Outside of North America: +1 703 639 1260
Conference ID: 1287079

**Please dial in to the teleconference at least 5 minutes early to provide your information to the operator before joining the call.**

After you dial in, an operator will ask you to state your first and last name, title, and the name of your company. The operator will then connect you to the teleconference.

For additional information please contact Hilary Alexis at +1 312 701 8678 or .

The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly.  Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently.  If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work.  For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.