Medical causation is often a central battleground between plaintiffs and defendants in toxic tort litigation. Such fights tend to revolve around two areas: “general causation” (i.e., is an exposure to the alleged toxic substance capable of causing the disease at issue?) and “specific causation” (i.e., did the exposure cause the disease in the plaintiff?). Traditional scientific tools for evaluating both general and specific causation, while taking into account various factors that may lead to inter-individual variation, can be limited by a lack of data and rigor. Advancements in understanding disease susceptibility, including discoveries regarding genetic variations in susceptibility, are providing new data relevant to the causation inquiry. The question becomes how to utilize this information.

This webinar will focus on the use of this data in personal injury litigation involving talc. Fueled by several recent multimillion dollar verdicts, lawsuits by people with mesothelioma or ovarian cancer who allege prior talc exposure as a cause have been on the rise, and variations in genes such as BAP-1, BRCA1 and BRCA2 have often been implicated. This webinar will cover the following topics:

  • The relevance of genetic variation in susceptibility and exposure marker evidence in the talc litigation
  • How scientists and medical professionals can use information relating to individual susceptibility, including genetics, in causation analyses, as well as the limitations of this type of evidence
  • The reliability of microscopic techniques for characterizing talc mineralogy and evaluating so-called “smoking gun” evidence of past talc exposure in tissues
  • The procurement and usability of genetic evidence in toxic tort litigation
  • How genetic evidence compares with other evidence of individual susceptibility or exposure
  • Legal and strategic considerations for using genetic evidence
  • The impact that genetic evidence is likely to have in future toxic tort litigation

Please join us on January 19, 2017 at 1 p.m. EST for an informative discussion.

CLE credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

For additional information, please contact Erica Weber at +1 312 701 7688 or eweber@mayerbrown.com.

United States
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. EST
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. CST
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MST
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PST

Europe
7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. CET
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. GMT