The topic of tax incentives for US corporations seeking to “invert” and become subsidiaries of a foreign corporations is receiving heightened attention in Congress and by federal agencies. The Obama administration is presently weighing administrative actions on inversions, and legislation has already been introduced to target those companies who have already inverted.

Such attention presents potential risks to US companies considering an inversion transaction. Moreover, some of these potential governmental actions could have significant implications for non-US-based multinational corporations doing business in the United States, even if they are not involved in an inversion transaction.

Please join Mayer Brown presenters David McIntosh, a Government Affairs partner and former US Republican Congressman, Toby Moffett, a senior adviser to the firm and former US Democratic Congressman, and Marcia Madsen, a leading member of the firms Government Contracts practice, for an interactive discussion covering:

  • The most likely policy options available to the Obama administration and Congress to prevent or limit inversions
  • The effect of such policy options on government contractors
  • Up-to-date actions/statements made by Treasury Secretary Jack Lew and key policy makers in Congress
  • Recommendations to companies that are involved in, or are considering, such corporate inversions

Monday, September 15, 2014

Europe
6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. BST
7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. CEST

United States
1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. EDT
12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. CDT
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MDT
10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PDT

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

For additional information, please contact Amanda Valente at +1 312 701 7952 or avalente@mayerbrown.com.

Downloads –
1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. EDT
12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. CDT
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MDT
10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PDT