On February 13, 2013, the European Commission adopted a Product Safety and Market Surveillance Package of draft measures, communications and reports. This package aims at providing more uniform safety rules for non-food products, many of which were regulated under different and overlapping legal frameworks, as well as improve market surveillance procedures and activities for both EU products and those imported into the European Union.

The main elements of this Package are:

  • A proposal for a new Consumer Product Safety Regulation that would repeal and replace the General Product Safety Directive and be applicable to most non-food consumer products, and
  • A proposal for a new Market Surveillance Regulation that would delete and replace the provisions on market surveillance in Chapter III of Regulation 765/2008 and be applicable to both consumer and industrial products.

Both measures are now being considered by the EU Parliament and the Council and are set to be adopted in April 2014 for entry into force on January 1, 2015.On June 10, 2013, Mayer Brown is hosting an event on the draft EU Consumer Product Safety and Market Surveillance Regulations. Mayer Brown’s Jean-Philippe Montfort, Erika Z. Jones, and Miles Robinson will discuss the new EU proposals and their potential impact on US companies exporting consumer and industrial products into the European Union.

We are offering this event both in our Washington DC office and via webinar.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Location
Mayer Brown
1999 K Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
+1 202 263 3000

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

Europe
9:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. CEST
8:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. BST

United States
3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. EDT
2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. CDT
1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. MDT
12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. PDT

For additional information, please contact Michael A. Karp at mkarp@mayerbrown.com or +1 202 263 3463.

Learn more about Mayer Brown's Product Liability & Mass Torts and International Trade practices.

Downloads –