News from Sub-Saharan Africa now regularly features stories of healthy economic growth rates, growing investment from around the globe and major projects in energy, mining, infrastructure, telecommunications and the like. Those experienced in doing business in the region will appreciate the need for a sound strategy with regard to dispute resolution, and the vital role that international arbitration can play. In recent years, this has increasingly been appreciated within Sub-Saharan Africa itself, as evidenced by the increasing promotion and development of commercial arbitration legal frameworks and arbitration centres in jurisdictions across the region.

The use of arbitration for commercial disputes in the Middle East has a long legacy. However, despite its legacy the various local centres and “free zones” within the region, bring with them their own issues and complexities.

To assist in successfully navigating arbitrations in these two unique regions please join our resident experts Raid Abu-Manneh and Kwadwo Sarkodie for a one-hour webinar on Tuesday 31 July 2012. During the webinar, Raid and Kwadwo will be navigating you through:

  • the trends and developments with regard to arbitration in these regions;
  • the key points to consider when arbitrating with parties from these regions;
  • the various enforcement options available within the regions; and
  • the assistance which bilateral investment treaties may offer those investing with states / state entities.

Date & Times
Tuesday, 31 July 2012
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. BST
4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CEST
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. EDT
10:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. HKT

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

For additional information, please email Suzanne Chandler or telephone +44 20 3130 8416.