Given the focus by regulators in many countries on corruption within the life sciences industry, it is critical that in-house counsel and compliance officers stay abreast of the relevant laws and enforcement trends in this highly-scrutinized industry. When the UK Bribery Act 2010 comes into force in April, all existing UK anti-bribery laws will be abolished and replaced with a suite of new bribery offenses. The Act has been the subject of much comment and, in view of its wide extra-territorial reach, clearly raises important issues for all those who are subject to UK legal oversight. This will include all those who carry business through a subsidiary or otherwise in any part of the UK.

On its face, the Act will make it significantly easier for the UK law enforcement agencies to achieve convictions for bribery offenses against both corporations and individuals and propels the UK into the vanguard of nations fighting the global war against bribery and corruption. In many respects, the Act goes significantly further than the equivalent laws in other jurisdictions and it is therefore important for those who are or may become subject to the new Act to ensure that their compliance and risk management programs are in line with the new requirements.

Please join Mayer Brown partners along with Kathleen Harris, Head of the Fraud Business Group at the UK Serious Fraud Office (SFO), who will address:

  • the new offenses introduced by the UK Bribery Act 2010 and the SFO’s approach to enforcement;
  • the differences between the UK Bribery Act 2010 and the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and the implications this may have for your business operations; and
  • the essentials for an effective global anti-corruption compliance program.

Speakers:
Kathleen Harris
Angela Hayes
Andrew Legg
Lynn A. Neils

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Americas
1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. BRST
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EST
9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. CST
8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. MST
7:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. PST

Europe
4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. CET
3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. GMT

Asia
11:00 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. CST/HKT

CLE credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

Register >>

For additional information, please contact Lisa Sharrow at +1 202 263 3086 or lsharrow@mayerbrown.com.

Learn more about Mayer Brown and our FCPA capabilities.

Related Capabilities

Industries –