In European Countries, the classification of workers as either employees or independent contractors significantly impacts a company's obligations under tax and employment laws. The same distinction exists in the US, where multiple government agencies have announced their intent to focus on this issue.

The distinction between these classifications, however, is often not clearly defined or understood. In some countries there are intermediate classifications which gives rise to further challenges for companies.

Looked at from a global perspective, one might think that the European countries would tend to adopt one approach and the US would adopt a different approach. In fact, the laws between EU countries substantially differ in that an individual may be considered an employee in one EU country and an independent worker in another. Similarly, US courts and agencies utilize a number of different tests in analyzing the classification of workers as employees or independent contractors.

In this webinar, our lawyers in our global Employment & Benefits Group from the US and three large European economies, the UK, France and Germany, will show you how to structure arrangements to achieve the desired result, and will each provide guidance on how to avoid the main pitfalls.

Timings

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. BST
5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. CEST
10.00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. CDT

Speakers
Nicholas Robertson, Partner, London
Dr. Nicholas Rossler, Parner, Frankfurt
Laurence Dumure Lambert, Partner, Paris
Andrew S. Rosenman, Partner, Chicago

Register >>

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

For additional information, please email Charlotte Howe or telephone +44 20 3130 8730.

Learn more about our Employment practice.