On June 9, 2010, the Federal Trade Commission announced that it had entered into a consent order with U-Haul. The FTC charged U-Haul with anticompetitive conduct, including signaling its competitors through disclosures made during public conference calls and webcasts with investors and financial analysts. The FTC's new consent order continues a trend where plaintiffs and government enforcers have used disclosures made by public companies as evidence of an antitrust conspiracy.

Please join us for a 60-minute webinar addressing this trend and providing practical advice on how to avoid the antitrust traps in making disclosures. Some of the topics to be addressed include:

  • A brief overview of the principles involved in disclosures by public companies, including the history of investor/analyst periodic calls
  • How plaintiffs have used disclosures to make their case
  • Defenses to antitrust actions based on statements made in the context of securities disclosures
  • A review of hypothetical disclosures derived from real life examples
  • Tips on avoiding the antitrust traps

Speakers
Jodi A. Simala
Richard M. Steuer

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Europe
6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. CEST
5:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. BST

United States
12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EDT
11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. CD
10:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. MDT
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. PDT

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

Register >>

For additional information, please contact Lisa Sharrow at +1ÿ202ÿ263ÿ3086 or lsharrow@mayerbrown.com.

Of Related Interest

Legal Update
US Federal Trade Commission Brings Invitation-to-Collude Case Against U-Haul

6/10/2010

Learn more about Mayer Brown's Antitrust & Competition and Corporate & Securities groups.