In today's global marketplace, financial institutions often provide private banking services across borders. The provision of these services by non-US financial institutions to US clients has recently come under increased scrutiny by a variety of US government authorities, including the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), the Department of Justice and the Securities and Exchange Commission. Accordingly, many non-US financial institutions are carefully reviewing the means and methods by which they serve US clients. In this webinar, lawyers from Mayer Brown's Tax Transactions and Financial Services Regulatory & Enforcement practices will:

  • Provide an overview of the relevant US federal tax, banking and securities laws
  • Review recent actions by US government authorities regarding private banking services provided by non-US institutions to US clients
  • Offer practical tips regarding compliance policies, procedures, controls and "best practices"
  • Describe the IRS's Voluntary Disclosure Program and the potential consequences of disclosures made under this program by US clients
  • Assess the impact of US legislative and policy initiatives, including prospe ctive changes to the IRS Qualified Intermediary Program

Speakers
Jerome J. Roche
Washington DC

Jonathan A. Sambur
Washington DC

Wednesday, October 21, 2009
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. EDT
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. CDT
7:00 a.m. - 8:00 a.m. PDT

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CEST
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. BST

CLE credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Instructions for accessing the program will be sent prior to the event.

Register >>

For additional information, please contact Hilary Alexis at +1 312 701 8678 or halexis@mayerbrown.com.

Learn more about Mayer Brown's Tax Transactions and Financial Services Regulatory & Enforcement practices.