Latest Developments: Update on the US Capital Purchase Program and TARP With each week we see new developments in the US Government's response to the current crisis, and adjustments to the way in which the funds available under TARP are to be applied. On Friday, November 14 it was announced that the capital purchase program will be opened up to private banks. What other developments can we expect to see in the weeks ahead? For those institutions intending to participate in the program, what are the practical steps that are involved and the lessons that can be learned form those who have already gone down this path? Please join us for a 30-minute teleconference, the next in our continuing series on the crisis, which will address such topics as:
  • The expansion ofÿ the capital purchase program to include private banks
  • The process of obtaining capital
  • Where next for TARP?
Mayer Brown's Global Financial Markets Initiative helps clients deal with the legal and business challenges resulting from the ongoing turbulence in worldwide financial markets. By mobilizing the firm's global resources from multiple practices and offices, the Initiative provides clients with knowledgeable and timely counsel on a broad spectrum of their legal needs. Thursday, November 20, 2008 8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PST 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. CST 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EST 4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. GMT Please note: there will be no teleconference call on Thursday, November 27 in recognition of the Thanksgiving holiday in the US. Register >> For additional information, please contact Jane Bohling at jbohling@mayerbrown.com or +1 312 701 8167. Visit Mayer Brown's Financial Market Distress - Resources site for a compilation of links to the latest documents issued by regulatory and other governmental agencies worldwide, and additional commentary by Mayer Brown. Please bookmark it and check back often to stay informed on this rapidly evolving situation. Please visit us at www.mayerbrown.com.