Teleconference
The Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008

Wednesday, October 8, 2008
8:00 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. PDT
10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. EDT
4:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. BST

Congress has passed, and the President has signed, the "Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008." This US$700 billion landmark financial services rescue legislation, occasioned by the US housing credit crisis and resulting banking crisis, creates a relief program that will allow certain financial institutions to sell "troubled assets" to the US Treasury. In addition, it directs the Treasury to put into place a program to guarantee, for a fee, troubled assets held by financial institutions, and contains other provisions that are important for financial services firms and those who do business with such firms.

Join us for this 45-minute teleconference that will cover issues such as:

  • Background of the Treasury program.
  • How will it impact you?
  • How will the program be implemented
  • Who will oversee the program's activities?
  • What business opportunities may the program create?

Listen to audio recording >>

For additional information, please contact:

Somer McBride at smcbride@mayerbrown.com or +1 202 263 3015.