Webinar
Worldwide Protection of Famous Brands

Wednesday, July 23, 2008
12:00 pm to 1:00 p.m. (EDT)
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (CDT)
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (PDT)
5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. (BST)
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. (CEST)

Safeguarding IP in today's global market is of critical importance for companies worldwide. The emerging global economy mandates a global approach to trademark protection. This webinar will focus on identifying the protections accorded famous trademarks in each of four key geographies - the US, China, the UK, and Germany, accompanied by an international overview relating to famous domain names.

  • US: Chewy Vuiton and Beyond: Evolving standards of trademark dilution under US law. We will review the interplay between parody and dilution in the context of commercial products at issue in theChewy Vuiton case, and discuss several post-Chewy Vuiton cases bearing on the standards for proving trademark dilution.
    Presented by: Richard Assmus, Partner, Chicago.

  • CHINA: Levels of"Well-Knownness" of a Trademark in China: An explanation of the different degrees of fame and how that affects protection in China.
    Presented by: Kenny Wong, Partner, Hong Kong.

  • UK: Evolving Standards of Trademark Dilution: To what extent does the US concept of dilution apply in Europe? A look at the concepts of unfair advantage and detriment in the EU, including the recent opinion of the Advocate General in the ECJ in the INTELMARK case, and the attitude of the UK Judges to parody.
    Presented by: Mary Bagnall, Partner, London.

  • GERMANY: Domain Name Management and Enforcement: How and where to take action when protecting a famous brand. We will appeal to the continuously growing importance of domain names to allow trademarks to enter the virtual world of the Internet.
    Presented by: Stephanie Hartung, Associate, Frankfurt.

Speakers
Richard Assmus - Chicago
Kenny Wong - Hong Kong
Mary Bagnall - London
Stephanie Hartung - FrankFurtt

CLE and CPD credit is pending.

Webinar Access
Access information will be sent to you several days prior to the event.

Register > >

For additional information please contact Hilary Alexis at 312 701 8678 orhalexis@mayerbrown.com.