Webinar
Treaty Planning to Protect Your Assets in Emerging Markets:
New Developments in Mitigating Political Risk

October 16, 2007

Presenters
Timothy J. Tyler - Houston
James Fielden - London
James R Barry - Chicago

What protections can be created to guard against the risk of huge losses on projects in developing nations as a result of governmental interference or unfairness?

How can you protect your business before a late-night call comes in from a far-flung subsidiary facing nationalization?

Please join Mayer Brown attorneys to discuss how to mitigate emerging market political risk by engaging the often-overlooked network of investment protection treaties. This new area is marked by change as new treaties are being signed, new countries are becoming involved, new case law is emerging, and new governments are denouncing their treaty obligations.

This one-hour webinar will review the concept of effective investment treaty planning and introduce new developments in the area. Specific topics include:

  • How to obtain international treaty protections from improper government interference
  • Industry sectors and investments protected by treaties
  • How companies can bypass local courts for neutral, offshore, international arbitration
  • Effective ways to mesh investment protection with tax planning

Tuesday, October 16, 2007
11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. (CDT)
12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. (EDT)
5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. (BST)
6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. (CEST)

CLE and CPD credit is pending.

For additional information please contact Hilary Alexis at 312-701-8678 or halexis@mayerbrown.com.

Register > >