• AddRemove
  • Build a Report 
Past Event
1 April 2015

United States
10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. EDT
9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. CDT
8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. MDT
7:00 a.m. – 7:30 a.m. PDT

4:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. CEST
3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. BST 


  • Julian Ellison
    T +32 2 502 5517
  • Dr. Jens Peter Schmidt
    T +32 2 502 5517

Cultivating a Global Merger Control Game Plan Webinar Series

Cross-border mergers frequently trigger pre-closing antitrust reviews. Such reviews are complex and can be fraught with risk. With more than 90 countries now having obligatory premerger filing requirements, different substantive and procedural regimes make a multijurisdictional transaction an expensive and time-consuming process.

National competition authorities around the world are becoming more cooperative, moving closer to a "common competition culture." Now that doing business often means doing business globally, preparation for consistent multijurisdictional filings should be a routine part of the overall business strategies developed by companies and their advisers. As a result, organizations involved in mergers and acquisitions need to be aware of new developments taking place in the various merger regimes around the world.

Part 1:
How to Approach Multijurisdictional Merger Control

Please join Mayer Brown partners Julian Ellison and Dr. Jens Peter Schmidt as they discuss how to approach multijurisdictional merger control in 2015.

Issues to be reviewed include:

  • Different structures of merger control systems and implications for the transaction
  • What triggers merger control? The art of calculating turnover and market shares
  • First-cut versus full-blown merger control analysis
  • Key features of the key jurisdictions (US, EU, China, Brazil etc.)
  • Considerations on “to file or not to file”
  • Transactional documents and timing
  • Jumping the gun: issues of premature closing


The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly.  Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently.  If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work.  For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.