Skip to main content

Legal Update

WTO Members Conclude Landmark Expansion of Information Technology Agreement

18 December 2015
Mayer Brown Legal Update

The United States and more than 50 member governments of the World Trade Organization (WTO) announced a landmark expansion of the Information Technology Agreement (ITA) that will phase out hundreds of tariffs on information technology. This is the first major tariff-elimination deal at the WTO in 18 years.

The WTO estimates that ITA expansion will eliminate tariffs on approximately $1.3 trillion in annual global exports of information and communications technology products. Industry analysts predict that the expanded agreement will increase annual global GDP by some $190 billion.

The ITA was concluded in its original form in 1996 and remained unchanged for nearly two decades, despite tremendous growth in global trade in technology products. Negotiations to expand the ITA were launched at the WTO in 2012.

In July 2015, the parties reached agreement on the ITA expansion list of 201 products, including new-generation semiconductors, GPS navigation systems, medical devices, machine tools for manufacturing printed circuits, telecommunications satellites, loudspeakers and touch screens. The agreement also contains a commitment to work to tackle non-tariff barriers in the IT sector, and to keep the list of products covered under review to determine whether further expansion may be needed to reflect future technological developments.

Tariffs on products covered by the expansion either will be eliminated on July 1, 2016, or will be phased out in annual cuts over a period of 3, 5, or 7 years. Thus, even goods for which the tariff does not reach zero until later on will see an immediate reduction in tariff starting on July 1, 2016. The pace of the tariff phase-outs was the final piece of the negotiation and will be made public soon.

Under US law, the president has authority to implement the ITA expansion without congressional action. Once the president has followed specified procedures for notifying Congress, he can unilaterally lower the tariffs as necessary to implement an expanded ITA. In addition, unlike broad, multi-sector negotiations such as the Doha Round, WTO members who do not participate in the negotiations would not have veto-power over an ITA expansion. They would, however, still receive the export benefits, as the duty reductions implemented by ITA members would apply to exports by all WTO member countries. 

The elimination of duties under the ITA has helped to generate substantial growth in the trading of information technology products. Industry sources estimate that global trade in products currently covered under the ITA grew from $1.2 trillion in 1996 to $4.0 trillion annually.

The WTO members who make up the expanded ITA are: Albania, Australia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, the European Union, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand and the US.


  • Timothy J. Keeler
    T +1 202 263 3774
  • Tiffany L. Smith
    Legal Professional / Consultant, Senior Policy Advisor
    T +1 202 263 3882

Related People

  • Cecil Leong
    Chief Executive Officer, Asia Pacific, Mayer Brown Consulting
    T +65 6327 0254
  • Paulette Vander Schueren
    T +32 2 551 5950
The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently. If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work. For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.