Skip to main content


Firm News

Mayer Brown announces 2016 Diversity Scholarship recipients

15 November 2016

Mayer Brown announced today that the firm selected four summer associates as recipients of the 2016 Diversity Scholarship, which was created to acknowledge and reward law students with strong academic records and who share the firm’s commitment to improving diversity in the legal profession. The recipients, who will join Mayer Brown as associates, are:

  • Marcus Benning (Charlotte), Duke Law School;
  • Sandor Callahan (Los Angeles), Georgetown Law Center;
  • Luiz Miranda (Chicago), University of Miami School of Law; and
  • Alexus Payton (Los Angeles), UC Berkeley School of Law.

The Diversity Scholars Program is one example of the many initiatives the firm has implemented to promote diversity and inclusion. The program annually provides up to four $15,000 scholarships to law students who demonstrate high academic achievement, strong leadership skills, an ability to overcome adversity, a commitment to improving diversity in the legal profession, and strong writing and communication skills. The 2016 selection committee included Director of Diversity & Inclusion Jerry DeBerry, Tax Controversy partner Kristin Mikolaitis (both New York), Corporate & Securities partner Brian May, and Litigation & Dispute Resolution partners Lori Lightfoot (both Chicago) and Bronwyn Pollock (Los Angeles), who are all members of the firm’s Committee on Diversity & Inclusion.

The Build a Report feature requires the use of cookies to function properly. Cookies are small text files that are placed on your computer by websites that you visit. They are widely used in order to make websites work, or work more efficiently. If you do not accept cookies, this function will not work. For more information please see our Privacy Policy

You have no pages selected. Please select pages to email then resubmit.